Key Databases for Exercise Science
Journal articles provide current, scholarly information. Researchers and commentators often first report their findings and ideas in a journal. Databases are a good place to start searching for online journal articles.
- SPORTDiscus- covers sport, exercise science, psychology, physical education, physiology, coaching, injury prevention, rehabilitation, nutrition and recreation.
- Australian Sport Database (AUSPORT)- covers Australian sport including biomechanics, coaching, disability, drugs in sport, medicine, nutrition, physiology and psychology.
- Medline- international medical database for the US National Library of Medicine that includes general and sports medicine.
- Academic Search Complete- multidisciplinary database that includes sport, health and current sporting events
- Health Collection(formerly Meditext) - an Australian allied health database that includes mental health, rehabilitation, substance abuse and aging.
- PsycINFO- sport, exercise and health psychology, exercise counselling and related issues.
- Web of Science- sports sciences, rehabilitation, nutrition, psychology and neuroscience.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center- evidence based rehabilitation information, images, handbooks and guidelines.
How to add Find it@ACU to Google Scholar
Many of you may already be using Google Scholar as it provides a simple, convenient way to search across a broad range of scholarly literature.
You might have noticed that on campus we have set up Google Scholar to link to full text electronic material our library has access to.
Did you know that it is also possible to do this from home by setting your Google Scholar Preferences. This will save you time and allow you to search across many resources at once from off-campus.
Follow the steps below to set your preferences:
- Go to Scholar Preferences (on the right of the Search button)
- Scroll down to the Library Links Search box and type in “Australian Catholic University”, then click ‘Find Library’
- Tick the check boxes next to the Australian Catholic University options
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and Save your preferences
Now when you search Google Scholar your results list will include Find it@ACU links to connect you to the full text articles for which we can provide access.
Key Journals for Exercise Science
- American Journal of Sports Medicine
- Australian and New Zealand Journal of Public Health
- International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism
- International Society of Biomechanics in Sport - Conference Proceedings Archive
- Journal of Applied Biomechanics
- Journal of Applied Physiology
- Journal of Applied Sport Psychology
- Journal of Motor Behavior
- Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
- Journal of Sport Management
- Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
- Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport

Loading...
