Advanced Database Searching

This guide will help you identify keywords and concepts in an assignment topic, explain how to develop a search strategy for databases searching, and provide searching tips.

Library Chat 24/7 in semester

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

How to save a database search

In many databases, you can save and print searches (strategies and results), and set up alerts. The examples used here are for the Ebscohost suite of databases. When you set up a personalised account, you are able to:

  • Save preferences
  • Organise your research with folders
  • Share your folders with others
  •  View others' folders
  • Save and retrieve your search history
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds
  • Gain access to your saved research remotely

To save a search in Ebsco:

From the Advanced Search screen, select Search History

click on Save Searches / Alerts

then, either Create a new account (1st time user) by clicking on the link (next to the yellow: "Login" box) OR if you already have an account, click on "Login". If creating a new account, you need to complete an online form, using a Username & Password that you can remember.

If wishing to save a search and set it up as an alert, you will need to do these as separate functions (See How to set up an alert on this page).

You can name your Folder & Search and give it a brief description, & date created.

This search can then be retrieved at a later date.

How to set up an alert

Mongoose Alert

This is how to set up an alert in Ebscohost:

From the Advanced Search screen, select Search History

click on Save Searches / Alerts

then, either Create a new account (1st time user) by clicking on this link (next to the yellow: Login" box), OR if you already have an account, click on "Login". To create a new account, see the instructions on screen or under the How to save a database search section on this page. How to save a database searchw to save a database search

Save Search As      

 Then specify the alert:

Frequency
Articles published within the last
Run Alert for
Alert Options Alert results format

Limit EBSCOhost access to only the articles sent
E-mail Properties

 Then SAVE

Printing a search

If you simply wish to print a search history, do the following:

1) From the Search History/Alerts Screen in Ebsco, click Print Search History. A browser window appears with the search history formatted for printing.

2) On the browser toolbar, click the Print icon. To close the browser, click the x in the top right corner of the window.