Skip to main content

Open access

This guide provides information about open access and new models of scholarly publishing, funding policies and compliance, and issues associated with copyright.

Tools for journal evaluation

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides a authoritative list of legitimate open access publications.

Ulrichs Database provides an indication of the peer review status of a publication. Look for the umpire jacket logo. 

Journal Citation Reports (Thomson Reuters) is the only authoritative source of journal impact factor data. There are 972 open access journals listed in the 2015 Journal Citation Reports. Access via ACU Library Find Databases page. 

Think Check Submit provides an easy-to-use checklist that researchers can refer to when they are investigating whether a journal can be trusted.

Some Australian Open Access Journals

Open Access Journal Models

Fully Open Access Journals publish exclusively open access articles

Delayed Access Journals require subscriptions for access to the most recent issues, but allow open access after an embargo period. The embargo period varies by journal, and may be as little as six months or as much as 15 years. 

Find Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a directory of open access scientific and scholarly journals. The Directory is regarded as an authoritative source for legitimate open access publications that adhere to the Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing. Journals and publishers must satisfy a set of stringent criteria in order to be included DOAJ. 

Search for a journal in DOAJ.

Open Access Publishing Discounts

BioMed Central

The Library has a BMC Supporter Membership which gives a 15% discount on the article-processing charges of all research articles accepted for publication in journals published by BioMed Central, Chemistry Central and SpringerOpen. Contact your librarian for more information.