Skip to main content

RefWorks

This guide will show you how to use RefWorks at ACU.

Using One Line/Cite View - Citing References

One Line/Cite View Compatibility

(Compatible with Netscape 6.0 and above, IE 5 and above, Mozilla 1.2.1 and above, Firefox 1.0 and above and Safari)

Citing References

To cite a reference in your paper do the following:

  • Select One line/Cite View from the Change View drop-down menu listed just below the RefWorks navigation (it probably is displaying the default Standard View option).
  • Click on the Cite link next to the appropriate reference. A Citation Viewer window will appear containing the citation formatted like {{54 Johnson;}}.
  • To cite a second reference in the same location just click on the Cite link by any other reference. (If you are using a Mac, you will need to click twice – the first click will activate the RefWorks program the second will perform the Cite function. This is due to Mac functionality not the RefWorks program.)
  • Once you have all of the references you need for a particular in-text citation, click on the Select button.
  • Perform a Copy command or simply drag and drop the citation into your word processor document.
  • Go to your word processor, click on the document where you want the citation inserted and Paste the citation. To modify your in-text citations or footnotes using Switches.
  • Be sure to Clear the Citation Viewer window before creating your next citation.

Click on theView link to see the entire reference and to access the Edit command if you want to make changes.

Editing Citations

Some Output Styles require that a specific page be included in an in-text citation. Others require that the author name be left out of the citation if the name is included in the text. RefWorks cannot determine a specific page number for a reference or know when an author name is in the text. You can, however, manually instruct the program to exclude or include certain items in the citation through the use of in-text switches. Modifying an in-text citation of footnote.

Protect Your Library - Back it Up!

To back up your RefWorks Library, following these steps:

1. Click on "Tools" within your library.

2. Select "Backup & Restore". and click "Perform Backup".

3. Do not change the file extension (e.g. .rwb). Save file to a secure location.

Using One Line/Cite View - Creating a Bibliography

To create your bibliography and format your paper:

There are many ways to format bibliographies using RefWorks. This is a simple method of formatting a bibliography from selected records directly within RefWorks. If you wish to use Refworks in combination with your word processor using footnotes, in-text citations and bibliographies click on the Write and Cite tab.

  • Click Create Bibliography at the top of the screen.
  • Select desired style from the Output Style drop-down menu. For information on customizing or creating a new output style see Customize a Style
  • Click Format Bibliography from a List of References.
  • Select desired format from the File Typedrop-down menu.
  • Select All References, My List, or Specifiy Folder and click the desired folder from the drop-down menu.
  • Click Create Bibliography.

Note: If you choose HTML format the bibliography will display in a new browser window. You may then use your browsers File->Print or File->Save As functions.
If you selected any other format you will be prompted to save the bibliography with a file name.

All changes to the document should be made to the original document. Only the original document with the citations in curly brackets may be reformatted later.

Note:
If your bibliography fails to generate, view the troubleshooting tips for bibliographies.

Email it: After the bibliography is created you may also email the list. The email address in your RefWorks account is automatically entered, but you can overwrite it with another address. Only one email address can entered.

To change the document format follow the same steps and choose a different Output Style. Try two different formats - Harvard, which is based upon author last name, and Nature, which is a numbered bibliography (the same as creating endnotes). To create a paper with footnotes try the Chicago Notes