Skip to main content

EndNote

This guide will show you how to get and use EndNote at ACU

Working With References in Word

Word 2016 - EndNote has addressed the issue of compatibility with Word 2016. More information is available on the EndNote website.

Insert Citation from within Word

The EndNote toolbar should automatically be available in Word. Toolbars are available in View > Toolbars.

There are a number of ways to insert a citation into Word. In each case the citation will be formatted in your chosen style and the reference list created:

  • Place the cursor in the document where you wish to insert the citation. Select from the EndNote toolbar Citations > Insert Citation(s)... Search and select the citation from the window of results, select Insert. 

Or,

  • Highlight the citation in EndNote and Copy (Control+C). Insert the cursor in the Word document where you wish to place the citation and Paste (Control+V). 

Insert Citation from within EndNote

  • Place the cursor in the Word document where you want to insert the citation. In EndNote highlight the reference you want to insert. Click on the citations icon . The citation will be inserted in your document and the reference in the reference list.

Using Find Citation within Word

Place the cursor in the document where you want to insert the citation. Select the magnifying glass icon in the  EndNote toolbar . Search by author or keyword in the search window. Highlight the required reference and use the Insert drop down menu to select the preferred display option in your document.

Instant Formatting

Instant formatting creates the reference list (bibliography) as you insert citations.

To disable or enable Instant Formatting in the current document select Bibliography in the EndNote toolbar, Turn Instant Formatting On/Off.


For long or complex document, you may prefer to turn instant formatting off as it can be time-consuming to reformat each time a new citation is inserted. When the document is finished or to see a draft, select Update Citations and Bibliography to format the citations and reference list. To continue working on the document, unformat the citations in the EndNote tool bar, using the drop down menu Tools > Convert to Unformatted Citations. Unformatted citations appear like this {Pajak, 2014 #108}.

It is essential to have unformatted citations when compiling a master document from separate documents, in order to create a single reference list at the end of the document.     

If you edit the reference in EndNote after entering it in Word, select Update Citations and Bibliography to make your edits appear.

Keyboard Shortcuts for CWYW

In Word, go to Tools > EndNoteX8 > Cite While You Write Preferences > Keyboard. You can assign new shortcuts or select Reset All to restore to default shortcuts listed below:            

Return to Word  Control+1
Got to EndNote  Control+1
Find Citation(s)   Control+7
Update Citations and Bibliography  set your own
Configure Bibliography  Control+3
Insert Selected Citation(s)   Control+2
Edit Citation(s)   Control+6
Edit Library References  Control+5
Insert Note    Control+0
Convert to Unformatted Citations   Control+4
Convert to Plain Text    set your own
Export Travelling Library   Control+8
Find Figure(s)   set your own
Format Figure(s)  set your own
Cite While You Write Preferences  Control+9
Help   set your own

 

Editing Citations

EndNote embeds code in your Word document. When editing a citation use the Edit & Manage Citation function to avoid corrupting your document.

To make changes or delete a citation highlight the required citation. The citation will become grey. In the EndNote tool bar select Citations > Edit & Manage Citation(s) ...

Use the Edit & Manage Citation(s) function to:

  • delete a citation
  • format the in-text citation
  • add page numbers (if not included in citation style)
  • change the order of multiple references
  • add prefixes or suffixes to your citation, eg. "cited in"

Add a Separate Bibliography

A formatted reference list can be added to your document without using EndNote to insert citations.

  • Open your EndNote library
  • Ensure your reference style is selected
  • Select one or more references (use Command ⌘ and the mouse to select individual references, use Shift and the mouse to select a range of references)
  • From the Menu select Edit > Copy Formatted 
  • Open your Word or email document, and paste (eg Control+Vor Edit > Paste)
  • Your references will be pasted in alphabetical order by author in your selected style

Bibliographies

There is more information on creating complex bibliographies on the Curtin University EndNote LibGuide.

EndNote and Track Changes

Track changes can interfere with EndNote if supervisors highlight a gray coded reference area when making a comment.

To avoid this the best method is: 

  • Save a copy of your document then convert to plain text (on the EndNote toolbar select Tools > Convert to Plain Text)

​​

  • Send to supervisor to track changes
  • When document comes back from supervisor, copy any changes to original document

Advantages of this method:

  • Track changes can interfere with EndNote – extra references in reference list, wrong numbering or missing items in table of contents, list of figures or list of tables
  • The thesis writer has usually changed the content anyway by the time the supervisor returns the work
  • It doesn't allow the supervisor to corrupt any field codes in your document