Skip to main content

EndNote

This guide will show you how to get and use EndNote at ACU

Finding Full Text

The Find Full Text function will attempt to find full text documents for your references in your EndNote Library.

To configure the EndNote Preferences go to Edit > Preferences > then highlight Find Full Text, in the Open URL path paste:

http://acu-edu-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/61ACU/61ACU_SP

In the URL field paste:

http://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login

To find the full text:

  1. Hold down the Command key and select the reference(s) to which you want to add full text (this works best with only a few references at a time)
  2. From the References menu, select Find Full Text > Find Full Text

It will not be possible to get 100% of full text articles using this feature.

Manually Attach a File or Image to a Reference

To store an image or file associated with a reference:

  1. Open the appropriate reference in your library
  2. Select References > Figure > Attach Figure... (for images) or References > File Attachments > Attach File... (for other files, e.g. PDF, HTML, Word, documents, Excel sheets, etc.) 
  3. Locate the file you wish to store with this reference
  4. Select Open. A file icon appears in the layout pane. A thumbnail of the figure appears in the Figure field of the reference
  5. If you have inserted a figure, enter a caption for it in the Caption field of the reference. This labels the image or file and assists in searching

PDFs can also be attached by highlighting the reference and selecting the paperclip icon in the layout pane 

To view the PDF double-click on the icon or highlight the reference, choose References > File Attachments  > Open with Preview, or select this icon in the layout pane 

To view the figure double-click on the thumbnail or choose References > Figure > Open Figure. 

To delete any attachment, highlight the file then select Edit > Clear from the drop down menu. 

By default, attaching a figure or file causes EndNote to make a copy that is stored in a special directory with your EndNote library. These files will move with your EndNote library when you copy it.

Direct Import Using DOI

If a PDF contains a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) in the metadata or the first two pages of the file, EndNote can import the file, or folder containing several files, and automatically create a reference in your library.

To import your PDF file go to File > Import, then navigate to your PDF or folder of PDFs. In the window select Import Options > PDF File or Folder, at Duplicates > Discard Duplicates, at Text Translation > No Translation. Select Import.

Automatically Import from Designated Folder

EndNote X8 enables the automatic import of all PDFs from a designated folder on your computer into your library. To set up the PDF Auto Import Folder:

  1. Create a new folder in your Downloads
  2. Name folder - e.g. PDF Folder
  3. In EndNote from the toolbar go to EndNote X8 > Preferences > PDF Handling
  4. Choose your preferred Renaming Option
  5. Tick Enable automatic importing
  6. In the new window navigate to your PDF Folder and select Open
  7. Click Save

For the PDFs saved into your automated PDF folder in Downloads, EndNote will automatically import and rename them using the naming convention of your choosing. Note: For imported PDFs without a DOI, you will need to manually add the information into the reference fields.

All PDFs will be moved to a folder labeled Imported that will be created in the auto import folder in Downloads after the first automatic download.

Note that Endnote does not import PDFs from subfolders within the Auto Import Folder.