Skip to main content

EndNote

This guide will show you how to get and use EndNote at ACU

Finding Full Text

The Find Full Text function will attempt to find full text documents for your references in your EndNote Library.

To configure the EndNote Preferences go to Edit > Preferences > then highlight Find Full Text, in the Open URL path paste:

http://acu-edu-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/61ACU/61ACU_SP

In the URL field paste:

http://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login

To find the full text:

  1. Hold down the Ctrl key and select the reference(s) to which you want to add full text (this works best with only a few references at a time)
  2. From the References menu, select Find Full Text > Find Full Text

It will not be possible to get 100% of full text articles using this feature.

Note: In order to find full text, cookies must be turned on in Internet Explorer.

Manually Attach a File or Image to a Reference

To store an image or file associated with a reference:

  • Open the appropriate reference in your library
  • Select References > Figure > Attach Figure... (for images) or References > File Attachments > Attach File... (for other files, e.g. PDF, HTML, Word, documents, Excel sheets, etc.) 
  • Locate the file you wish to store with this reference
  • Select Open. A thumbnail image or an icon representing the type of file inserted appears in the reference 
  • If you have inserted a figure, enter a caption for it in the Caption field. This labels the image or file and assists in searching

To view the file double-click on the icon or choose References > File Attachments > Open File. To delete, right-click on the image or file and choose Clear from the drop down menu. 

By default, attaching a figure or file causes EndNote to make a copy that is stored in a special directory with your EndNote library. These files will move with your EndNote library when you copy it.

Direct Import Using DOI

"This feature allows you to convert existing collections of PDF files into EndNote references with minimal typing and copying by extracting Digital Object identifiers (DOI) from PDF files. The system matches DOI information with data available from CrossRef (www.CrossRef.org) by capturing bibliographic content and creating new EndNote references." 

To import a PDF file or folder of PDF files:

  1. Open the library into which you want to import the references
  2. Select File > Import > File or Folder to open the Import File/Folder dialog box
  3. Browse using the Choose button to locate the file/folder you want to import from your computer
  4. Select the required PDF file/folder and click on Open
  5. Select PDF from the Import Option list  
  6. Choose an option from the Duplicates list
  7. Select a Text Translation option (if available). The default value is No Translation       

       Import dialog box

       8.  Select Import to import the file to your library

Automatic importing can be set up. See Automatically Import from Designated Folder box on this page.

Automatically Import from Designated Folder

You can set your preferences to enable automatic importing of PDFs from a designated folder on your computer. Anytime you add new PDFs to this folder EndNote will automatically import and rename them using the naming convention of your choosing.

Go to Edit > Preference > PDF Handling

  • Choose auto renaming option (note:  this does not affect the file name in the original folder)
  • Select Enable automatic importing and select the folder you wish to use
  • If the reference is already in your library it will attach the PDF to it. If not, then it will create a new reference and attach the file

image of dialogue box