Skip to main content

EndNote

This guide will show you how to get and use EndNote at ACU

Working with References in Word

EndNote works with Microsoft Word to insert citations into documents. EndNote will format citations and bibliographies into a nominated style. Styles can include footnotes and numbering. 

Setting the style in Word 

  • In Word, select the EndNote X8 tab
  • Select the style from the drop down Style menu list (eg. Harvard, Chicago, APA 6th) or Select Another Style...

Inserting citations 

There are various methods to insert citations into documents. The Insert Citation toolbar option can be used in Word to find a citation or insert a selected citation. You can also directly insert a citation from EndNote or copy and paste citations from EndNote to Word.

To Insert a Selected Citation in Word:

  • Open your Word document
  • From the EndNote X8 tab Citations section select Go to EndNote
  • Highlight the reference(s) that you wish to place in the document
  • Select the Go to Word Processor toolbar button. Click into the text where you would like to place the citation
  • From the EndNote X8 tab Citations section click on the Insert Citation drop down menu and select Insert Selected Citation(s)

In APA 6th, formatted citations appear as (Wu, Chan, & Ma). Unformatted citations have curly brackets and exposed record numbers {Wu, 2010 #34}.

Instant Formatting

Instant formatting creates the reference list (bibliography) as you insert citations.

To disable or enable Instant Formatting in the current document click the option in the Bibliography box on the Word Ribbon

For long or complex document, you may prefer to turn instant formatting off as it can be time-consuming to reformat each time a new citation is inserted. When the document is finished or to see a draft, select Update Citations and Bibliography to format the citations and reference list. To continue working on the document, unformat the citations using the Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations. Unformatted citations look like this {Pajak, 2014 #108}.

It is essential to have unformatted citations when compiling a master document from separate documents, in order to create a single reference list at the end of the document.

If you edit the reference in EndNote after entering it in Word, select Update Citations and Bibilography to make your edits appear.

Inserting citations into PowerPoint

Instructions for in-text citations and bibliographies for PowerPoint are available from Curtin University EndNote LibGuide.

Editing Citations and Bibliographies

Editing Citations in Your Document

Do not edit citations by typing over the citation as the edits are lost each time EndNote reformats the reference list. 

Citations can be edited by clicking on a citation and selecting Edit & Manage Citation(s) from the EndNote X8 tab. The citations will be selected in the Citations in document window.  Make any of the following changes to the highlighted citation.

  • Use the Prefix field to enter text to be displayed immediately before the citation text. Spaces are significant. e.g. Johnston (cited in Coles, 2011)
  • Use the Suffix field for text after the citation text and for page numbers where the Pages field does not work correctly (eg Chicago style)
  • For the majority of styles (inluding APA) the Pages field works correctly so page numbers can be inserted in this field.
  • Exclude Author: tick this box to omit the author name from the formatted citation.  e.g. Coles (2011) or choose the "Display as Author (Year)" option under formatting
  • Exclude Year: tick this box to omit the date from the formatted citation.

Editing Bibliography Layout in Your Document

Bibliography layout changes made using Word are replaced each time EndNote reformats the bibliography. 

Edit the bibliography layout by clicking on the arrow next to Bibliography on the EndNote X8 tab. Select the Layout tab. This provides options for changing the font, font size, indents, line spacing, and spacing between bibliography entries.

Add a Separate Bibliography

A formatted reference list can be added to your document without using EndNote to insert citations.

  • Open a Word Document
  • Go to the EndNote X8 tab. Select Go to EndNote
  • Select references for your list using the mouse and holding down the Ctrl key while multiple references are selected
  • Select Edit > Copy Formatted
  • Choose the Return to Word Processor toolbar icon and select the place in the document where the references should be inserted
  • Click on the Paste icon

There is more information on creating complex bibliographies on the Curtin University EndNote LibGuide.

EndNote and Track Changes

Track changes can interfere with EndNote if supervisors highlight a gray coded reference area when making a comment.

To avoid this the best method is: 

  • Save a copy of your document then convert to plain text (on the EndNote tab select Convert Citations and Bibliography, Convert to plain text)
  • Send to supervisor to track changes
  • When document comes back from supervisor, copy any changes to original

Advantages of this method:

  • Track changes can interfere with EndNote – extra references in reference list, wrong numbering or missing items in table of contents, list of figures or list of tables
  • The thesis writer has usually changed the content anyway by the time the supervisor returns the work
  • It doesn't allow the supervisor to corrupt any field codes in your document