Skip to main content

EndNote

This guide will show you how to get and use EndNote at ACU

Add & Edit References

Create New Library

  • Go to Macintosh HD or Finder > Applications > EndNote X8
  • To create a new library go to File > New > Save As - name your library - select Save
  • To close, click on the red close button on the upper left hand corner

Opening an Existing Library

  • Open EndNote X8 from applications or the icon in the dock.  Go to File > Open Library... (or Command+O). Select your library
  • To exit, click on the red close button on the top left hand corner or use Command+Q to exit the program or Command+W the library

To manually add References:

  • Select References > New References menu option or Command+N or this icon
  • Select Reference type required in the drop-down menu.The default is Journal Article. Different reference types will show different fields
  • Type information into the appropriate boxes, also called fields (e.g. Author, Year, Title, Journal, Volume, Issue, Pages).  A minimal amount of information only needs to be entered to suit the Output Style you are using.  Enter your notes about the item in the Research Notes box
  • Use capital letters in article, book and journal titles according to guidelines of the Output Style you are using
  • Abbreviate journal titles if required for the Output Style.  EndNote has an advanced feature called Term Lists that can automate the abbreviation of journal titles
  • Don’t format text (e.g. italics or bold). EndNote formats the reference according to the Output Style selected
  • Use the TAB key or mouse to move from box to box
  • Once completed, close the Reference Window using File > Close Reference or by clicking the red close button for the Reference Window in the top left hand corner of the window. Select Save
  • Preview your reference for spelling and capitalisation using the Preview screen in the Tab Pane. The Tab Pane can be hidden or shown by clicking the Layout option in the bottom right hand corner of the EndNote window
  • The reference can be edited in the Reference tab or by double clicking the reference in the Library Window
  • The default Output Style may be set to Show All Fields or Annotated. Select an Output Style from the style menu on the main toolbar

Authors

  • Authors should be entered one per line
  • Always include the comma between family name and first name to display the author names correctly in the Review Pane and your document
  • Do not enter abbreviated author lists (i.e. use et al.). EndNote will display author lists according to the rules of your selected style

Examples

Sergold, J. H.  - Family name first, comma, then initials or first name which may be separated by periods and/or spaces (*recommended format).

D' Arbon, T. - include a space between D' and Arbon to allow author name to sort alphabetically.

de Gaulle, Charles  - Use the family name first for two word surnames.

McDonald, James J., Jr  - Put titles after the comma following the family name.

United Nations,  - For organisations and companies, enter the name with a comma at the end.

U.S. Department of Justice,, Bureau of Justice Statistics  - When a name contains one or more internal commas, replace the first of the commas with two commas, and don’t put a comma at the end.

Different Display Modes

There are three different display modes in the EndNote toolbar:

Importing References

Direct Export

References can be imported easily from catalogues and individual databases, usually by a Direct Export method from the resource. While the method will be slightly different on each database the process usually involves 'marking' records and exporting or downloading them into EndNote.

The University of Melbourne has a helpful series of pages which provide step-by-step instructions to be used with specific databases.

For Mac users, the Direct Export method from databases is browser dependent. Firefox provides an option to select EndNote as the application to open the exported file. Safari will place the exported file into the Download directory and it will then need to be imported from within EndNote using the Import function.

Mac users may need to use the Import Filter method if Direct Export does not work.

EndNote has further information and tips for individual databases in the Little Endnote How-to Book

Connection Files

Some resources may be searched from within EndNote. A 'connection file' is used to perform an online search.

To add connection files to your Endnote Library, select Online Search Mode (Temporary Library), in the My Library pane select more under Online Search, then choose the database or catalogue you wish to be added to Online Search list.  The connection file will now appear in your list.

Or you can select a connection file from the full list of connection files from EndNote. You can choose individual files or download a complete set.

Importing from ACU Library Search

You can direct export references from the ACU Library Search.  This is done by downloading and opening a .RIS file, using the Export RIS feature.  You will need to review the imported reference as sometimes fields need correcting. 

Select the "Show actions options" icon to the right of each result:

 

Select "Export RIS" and then download using the UTF-8 encoding: